Profiles and Permissions

Profiles are used to control actions that users can perform on records. In addition, profiles can be used to restrict access to specific fields, modules, and features such as import, export, etc. When a profile is associated to a role, the access rights defined in the profile will be applied across all users in that role.

* Users in higher hierarchy can always view records of users in lower hierarchy.

Step 1 : Creating Profiles

You can create different profiles and associate with roles in RepBox. For instance, you can create different profiles for your Sales team, Support team, etc

Follow a few simple steps to create a profile:

  1. Click gear icon in the upper right
  2. Click CRM Settings
  3. Click 'User and Access Control' drop-down in the left
  4. Click Profiles. You can click on the pin icon next to it to add a shortcut to your settings home page
  5. Click Add Profile
  6. Provide Profile Name and Description. These fields are only for your reference
  7. Define privileges for your profile. (We will discuss this in next step)
  8. Click Save

Step 2 : Defining Permissions

Profiles give you the flexibility to define privileges on your profile. This makes sure that you've total control on operations your users can perform on records. The fine grained access control allows you to enable or disable Modules, Fields, and tools such as Import, Export, Duplicates Handling, etc. Additionally, you can also promote or revoke access to View, Edit/Create, and Delete operations on fields and modules in RepBox.

Disable or enable the highlighted checkboxes to revoke or grant access to appropriate operation(View, Create/Edit, Delete) on all available modules in RepBox. For instance, if you do not want your sales reps to delete records, you can disable Delete checkbox. As a result, your sales reps will be able to create/edit and view records but can't delete.

To disable a specific module, you'll need to uncheck the checkbox corresponding to that module.
To disable permissions on a specific module, you'll need to uncheck the checkbox under corresponding tab. For instance, if you don't want your support team to Delete Accounts, you'll need to uncheck the checkbox next to Accounts and under Delete tab.

Defining permissions on fields and tools

We've discussed about the permissions that can be defined on modules available in RepBox. Apart from that, Profiles also enables you to define access permissions on the fields and tools: Import, Export, Duplicates Handling, etc, that available within those modules. To define privileges, you'll need to click on the drop-down under 'Field and Tool Privileges' of your desired module

You can move the ball beside the fields to define privileges.
  1. Green represents Write. That means user can be able to modify the value in the fields
  2. Orange represents Read Only. That means user can only view but cannot make any modifications on the field value
  3. Black represents Invisible. That means field is completely hidden and not visible for the users
Profiles also gives you the flexibility to assign privileges on features that are related to the module. For instance, you can restrict your users from importing or exporting records in RepBox.
Under the 'Tools' section, click on checkboxes to enable/disable corresponding feature.

Step 3 : Assigning users to a profile

Profile cannot be directly linked with users. You'll need to associate a profile with a role; as a result, privileges are affected to all users across that role.
Here's how to do it:
  1. Click gear icon in the top right
  2. Click CRM Settings
  3. Click 'User and Access Control' drop-down in the left
  4. Click Roles. You can click on the pin icon next to it to add a shortcut to your settings home page
  5. Select desired role and select corresponding profile
    • You can associate multiple users and profiles for the same role.
    • When you associate multiple users for same role, the users under the role will not be able to see each others' records.
    • A role always work with respect to Profiles and Sharing Access.

    Deleting a Profile

    If existing profiles doesn't meet your requirements, you can delete them right away. Before deleting, responsibilities of that profile should be transferred to another existing profile.

    Follow few simple steps to delete an existing profile

    1. In the list view of Profiles, click trash icon to the right of your desired profile
    2. In the popup, transfer responsibilities to another existing profile
    3. Click Save

Did this help answer your question?

thumbs up
thumbs down

Thanks for the feedback! 🙏🏽